Kate Mayhook Named As First D'Youville Women's Head Lacrosse Coach

Kate Mayhook Named As First D'Youville Women's Head Lacrosse Coach

Buffalo, NY – The D’Youville College Athletic Department is pleased to announce the hiring of Kate Mayhook as the new head coach and leader of the new D’Youville women’s lacrosse program.

“D’Youville College is fortunate to have an experience leader to start a new varsity women’s lacrosse program,” exclaimed D’Youville Director of Athletics Brian Cavanaugh.

Kate brings a great deal of coaching and playing experience at the collegiate level. At Colgate University, Kate earned her Bachelor of Arts and History and was a standout for the women’s lacrosse program. She is a three-time Collegiate All-American Northeast Women’s lacrosse as well as a two-time Patriot League Player of the Year. She led her team in total points (goals and assists), draw control, goundballs and steals 1999-2000. Kate was also a team captain in 2000.

Mayhook recently was the head women’s lacrosse coach at Nardin Academy from 2007-2015. In her time at Nardin, Kate led the team to multiple winning seasons, including one regular season championship and three league finals. Since 2013, she has also coached youth girls’ lacrosse, working with girls between the ages of 6-14.

Following her time as a player, Kate became an assistant coach for the Colgate women’s lacrosse program and helped lead them to the first Patriot League Tournament. She is also an accomplished marathon runner, competing in the Buffalo Marathon (2002, 2003), Chicago Marathon (2003), Miami FL Marathon (2007), Niagara Falls Marathon (2012) and Boston Marathon (2014).

In September of 2011, Kate was honored for her outstanding athletic achievements by her alma mater as she was inducted into the Colgate Athletic Hall of Honor. 

“Kate is the perfect fit for this. She brings great experience and Hall of Fame credentials,” Cavanaugh stated.

This season will be the first season of the D’Youville women’s lacrosse team. They will be a club sport for the 2016 season and will transition in to a NCAA Division III in 2017. Their home games will be played at Dobson Field.