The Buffalo Cup

The Buffalo Cup

Buffalo, NY – Three Western New York AMCC schools are proud to announce the creation of a new level of competition amongst their long-lasting rivalries.

D'Youville College, Hilbert College and Medaille College have announced the creation of the Buffalo Cup, a competition amongst the three schools in which points will be awarded for victories against the rival schools in conference competition only.


- One point is awarded to the winning team, zero for the losing team

- Only conference games will be counted for points

- Only sports that all three schools support will count for points (men's and women's soccer, basketball, volleyball, cross country; men's golf, women's lacrosse, baseball, softball)

- In golf and cross country, points will be awarded in order of finish at conference championship (two points for best team finish, one for second best team finish, zero for lowest team finish)

Sports that have two games against each school a year (softball, baseball, basketball, men's volleyball) can earn a maximum of four points. Sports that compete in invitational (cross country, golf) can earn a maximum of three points. Sports that only play once a year (soccer, women's lacrosse, women's volleyball) can earn a maximum of two.

In the event of a tie in total points, the tiebreaker is the percentage of student-athlete body with the highest number of AMCC Peak Performers.

A new Buffalo Cup Champion will be named each year.