Women Take Second, Men Take Third at Evangola Invitational

Women Take Second, Men Take Third at Evangola Invitational

Irving, NY – The D'Youville men and women's cross country teams had very successful afternoons on Saturday, as the women took second place at the Evengola Experience Invite while the men took third.

Kathryn Piraino (Nunda, NY/Keshequa) took third overall in the women's 6k, finishing with a time of 0:26:11 out of 50 runners in the event. Following closely behind Piraino was freshman Rachel Luczak (Lancaster, NY/Immaculata) who finished fifth overall and recorded a time of 0:26:55.

The women then had four women additional women finish in the top 15. Stephanie Lisiecki (West Seneca, NY/West Seneca East) finished 11th overall with a time of 0:28:04 and freshman Alison Gareis (Buffalo, NY/Buffalo Seminary) finished right behind Lisiecki in 12th place with a time of 28.26. Kaitlyn Furtado (Acushnet, MA/Fairhaven) and Rachel Johnson (Jamestown, NY/Jamestown) were then just a few seconds off the same pace as their teammates, finishing in 14th and 15th place respectively.

Jenna Donati (Depew, NY/Depew), Callan Smith (Amherst, NY/Amherst), Mary Blackley (Lockport, NY/Blackley Academy), and Danielle Couch (Wheatfield, NY/Niagara-Wheatfield) rounded out the participants for the women at their second invitational of the fall.

As for the men, the team's third place finish was paced by their top three runners who finished 9, 10, and 11th overall. Brian Buttaggi (Webster, NY/Webster-Schroeder) was the best D'Youville runner with a time of 0:31:54, followed by David Oswald (Hamburg, NY/Hamburg) and Andrew Tantalo (Greece, NY/Home School) with times of 0:32:04 and 0:32:27 respectively.

Runners Zachery Bochacki (West Seneca, NY/West Seneca West), Edward Apen (East Aurora, NY/Home School), Matthew Buttaggi (Webster, NY/Webster-Schroeder), and Logan Krass (Oswego, NY/Oswego) helped the men secure a third place finish. It was the first 8k race for the team this season.

The next race for both teams will come on Saturday, September 23 as the two teams will run in the Harry Anderson Invitational.