Season Preview: D'Youville Men's Cross Country

Season Preview: D'Youville Men's Cross Country

Buffalo, NY - The D'Youville Men's Cross-Country team comes into 2019 following one of their best seasons in program history and return a strong core of runners.

D'Youville finished third overall in the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference (AMCC) Championship last season and finished in the top three in five of their eight races last season. The men took home first twice as they came in first at the Meghan Memorial and Hilbert Fall Classic with top three finishes in each of their final four races of the season.

Patrick Moran (Wheatfield, NY/ Niagara CCC) will lead the team once again. The returning senior was the lone cross-country runner to be awarded with an AMCC All-Conference team selection last season. Moran also was awarded the team's MVP at the end of the season. In the seven races that he ran in last season, Pat finished as the team's top runner. In the Meghan Memorial and the Hilbert Fall Classic he finished first overall. Moran also finished third overall in the Buffalo State Invitational and fourth in the CCOC. In early October, Moran was the AMCC runner of the week.

Sophomore David Oswald (Hamburg, NY/ Hamburg) is also returning to the team for his second year at D'Youville. Oswald was awarded the Spartan Award at the end of the season for the second year in a row last year. Last season, David never finished lower than third place for the team.

Also back for the Spartans are sophomores Dalton Holthouse (Clymer, NY/ Clymer) and Tylor Muscarella (Geneseo, NY/ Geneseo Central). Holthouse earned Most Improved last year, while Muscarella finished in one of the top spots of every race for the Spartans.

Seniors Zach Bochacki (West Seneca, NY/ West Seneca West) and Matthew Buttaggi (Penfield, NY/ Webster-Schroeder) are also returning for their last season. Bochacki finished in the top five for the Spartans in most races, and Buttaggi ran good minutes for the team as well.

Rounding out the team are juniors Edward Apen (East Aurora, NY/ Home School) and Joseph Frailey (Grand Island, NY/ Grand Island); and sophomores Dominick Harris (Kenmore, NY/ Kenmore West), Jevon Whittington (Buffalo, NY/ Buffalo Academy for the Visual and Performing Arts) and John Whittington (Buffalo, NY/ Buffalo Academy for the Visual and Performing Arts) who all will be looked upon for their experience this new season. Joining the team as the lone newcomer is Anthony Scallo (Elkridge, MD/ Mt. St. Joseph).

The team will compete in its first race of the season on Saturday, August 31 at the Buffalo State Invitational.