Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

95 Student-Athletes Honored for Academic Performance

95 Student-Athletes Honored for Academic Performance

Buffalo, N.Y.- 95 D'Youville College student-athletes from the school's 14 intercollegiate varsity programs were honored by the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference with the naming to the Academic All-Conference Team.

"We take great pride in the academic commitment of our student-athletes," said Director of Athletics Brian Cavanaugh at the April 10 lunchtime event that recognized the recipients. "Their commitment in the classroom and to their sport or sports is truly amazing."

To be named to the Academic All-Conference Team, a student must earn a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher as of the conclusion of the fall 2012 semester. 

63 of the Academic All-Conference Team members were recognized as AMCC Peak Performers, Peak Performers earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher at the conclusion of the Fall 2012 semester. (Those named Peak Performer are indicated with *)

18 Spartans were admitted to the Chi Alpha Sigma Student-Athlete Honor Society. Chi Alpha Sigma honorees must be juniors or seniors, earn a 3.4 GPA or higher, and demonstrate high moral character. (Those admitted to Chi Alpha Sigma are indicated with #)

The Spartans honored for academic performance include: Dan Fox* (Baseball), Tayler Sheridan (Baseball), Eric Simoncelli (Baseball), Jeff Spors (Baseball), Kyle Taylor * (Baseball), DJ Zanghi (Baseball), Kyle Clarke (Men's Basketball), Jon Gemerek* (Men's Basketball), Corey Mis (Men's Basketball), Erik Prophet (Men's Basketball), Andrew Reinhardt (Men's Basketball & Volleyball), Maria Rosati* (Women's Basketball), Mikiah Downing*# (Men's Basketball & Baseball), Briana Bartholomew* (Crew), Kaitlyn Chapin* (Crew), Sadie Marie Deveau (Crew), Abigail Fox* (Crew), Emily Mignini* (Crew), Andrea Milleville*# (Crew), Natalie Pelton* (Crew), Joe Bellavia (Golf), Joel Costanzo II (Golf), James Schultz (Golf), Jessica Banning* (Softball), , Jaclyn Bellanti (Softball), Courtney Clark* (Softball), Erica Comisso*# (Softball), Ashley Covel (Women's Cross-Country & Softball), Stephanie Duermeyer* (Softball), Shannon Evans*# (Softball), Alison Hall (Softball), Abbey Leitten* (Softball), Kalie McHenry (Softball), Lydia Monin* (Softball), Lisa Petty (Softball), Shannon Sutton*# (Softball), Edward Appah*# (Men's Soccer), Abby Blakely (Women's Soccer), Anthony Galvano* (Men's Soccer), Samantha Giebner (Women's Soccer), Kayla Hartnett (Women's Soccer), Mallory Hojnacki* (Women's Soccer), Rachel Komrek (Women's Soccer), Sullivan Landino (Men's Soccer), Nicole LaVere (Women's Soccer), Ashley Long* (Women's Soccer & Basketball), Rachel Pandolfe (Women's Soccer), Samantha Pfohl (Women's Soccer), Aimee Pfuntner* (Women's Soccer), Matt Smith (Men's Soccer), Nicholas Tobias* (Men's Soccer), Jordan Wabick*# (Men's Soccer), Lauren Walsh (Women's Soccer), Jenna Warren* (Women's Soccer), James White* (Men's Soccer), Shannon Wilson# (Women's Soccer), Matt Veronica*# (Men's Soccer & Baseball), Amanda Drake* (Women's Soccer & Softball), Meghan Atallah* (Women's Tennis), Jordan Davis* (Women's Tennis), Jericko Gonzalez*# (Men's Tennis), Jesica Lampka* (Women's Tennis), John Nazzarett* (Men's Tennis), Mateusz Ruszkiewicz* (Men's Tennis), Anna Campbell*# (Women's Volleyball), Adam Dean*# (Men's Volleyball), Kayla Deth*# (Women's Volleyball), Alyssa Dueringer* (Women's Volleyball), Alex Johnson (Men's Volleyball), Kelly Koithan (Women's Volleyball), Larissa Kutzuba*# (Women's Volleyball), Matt Loos* (Men's Volleyball), Luciana Payne*# (women's Volleyball), Natalie Rieman* (Women's Volleyball), Olivia Roach* (Women's Volleyball), Nick Vitello* (Men's Volleyball), Jarred Bogardus* (Men's Cross-Country), Kyle Fancher* (Men's Cross-Country), Christine Fleming*# (Women's Cross-Country), Maria Fusco* (Women's Cross-Country), Kelsey Howland (Women's Cross-Country), Bradley Huff (Men's Cross-Country), Danielle Kirchner* (Women's Cross-Country), Aung Kyaw*# (Men's Cross-Country), Shaina Nelson (Women's Cross-Country), Candice Price* (Women's Cross-Country), Emily Quast* (Women's Cross-Country), Melissa Scarangella* (Women's Cross-Country), Anthony Oliveri (Men's Cross-Country & Baseball), Mark Boyland (Men's Cross-Country & Tennis).

The academic awards are one of the highlights of NCAA Division III Student-Athlete Week celebrated throughout the 10-member Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference and across the 460-school membership.

Earlier in the week, the winter AMCC All-Sportsmanship Teams were announced and Sarah Marino (Buffalo, NY/Holy Angels Academy) represented D'Youville in women's basketball and Erik Prophet (Buffalo, NY/City Honors) was named for men's basketball.

The week kicked off when D'Youville hosted the NCAA/AMCC Athletic-Academic Integration Roundtable. Those in attendance were faculty, athletic staff and coaches, college administrators, student-athletes, and D'Youville College President Sister Denise A. Roche.

The group reviewed the mission statements of D'Youville College, the Department of Student-Affairs, Spartan Athletics, the Allegheny Mountain College Conference, and the NCAA. A presentation from the NCAA about what the Division III experience has to offer the student-athlete was also viewed.